You’re watching Treehouse

image1

Before a little person came out of me, I had lofty notions about parenting and how I was going to do it.

Never was I ever going to drive a minivan (I still don’t, but my bff just bought one yesterday and as she was describing all of its baubles and conveniences I thought my head would burst from jealousy); never would I ever co-sleep (first night home from the hospital we broke that rule); never would I ever allow my child to watch TV.

The last one was really hard to justify especially because for the first few months of her life I was parked in front of the television as I sought to distract myself from the endless cycle of breastfeeding and holding her while she slept (also something I vowed I’d never do).

When our daughter got to an age where she was aware of stuff, we decided it might be time to start watching more kid-appropriate programming. I’ll admit, I was selfish and reluctant to make the switch as my super-intellect demands to be challenged by shows like Love It or List It, Property Brothers and Real Housewives of Orange County, but I think we’ve made the most of things.

The Treehouse network has become a familiar backdrop at our house. It’s only natural that my husband and I have become kid show connoisseurs. In fact we’ve really gotten into them. Where once we debated the dark themes in Breaking Bad and Game of Thrones, we now theorize on the whereabouts of Max and Ruby‘s parents (and their sudden appearance – what’s that all about? They’re so lame!) or the ramifications of the relationship between Leah and the genies in Shimmer and Shine.

So, because I am an expert on kid TV now, I thought it would be fun to come up with a Top 5 Treehouse shows for adults. Keep in mind, this is based on adult watchability not if they’re any good for our children – who worries about that anyways?

5. Go Jetters

This show features four adventure-seeking superheroes who travel the globe under the guidance of a disco-loving unicorn named Ubercorn. They often cross paths with super villain Grand Master Glitch who, with his Grimbots, is always up to no good.

I won’t lie, I’ve actually learned a lot from the Go Jetters. Ubercorn’s Funky Top 3 is VERY informative and super funky. The reason this show is in the Top 5 is because my husband and I loooooove the theme song and also, we think Grand Master Glitch adorable and he is one of our all-time favourite villains – he really is just misunderstood.

4. Sesame Street

I feel like this show needs no introduction.

Our fondness for Sesame Street is mostly fueled by nostalgia though there are a lot of really entertaining skits. They have a segment that re-imagines popular movies or shows. Our favourites include: True Mud (True Blood), The Hungry Games: Catching Fur, Upside Downton Abbey, and many many more. Sesame Street might be a show for kids but it’s clearly written with an adult audience in mind. Love that this show is back in my life.

3. Peg + Cat

This follows a little girl Peg and her sidekick Cat as they solve problems using math.

Peg + Cat took time to grow on me. I found Peg a little grating at first but I think that was my sleep deprivation clouding my judgment. This show is HILARIOUS. The writing is so damn clever and the music is way catchy. The animation is adorable and Cat’s dry wit perfectly offsets high-strung Peg’s sweetness.

2. Peppa Pig

I absolutely adore this little English piggy and her family.

Peppa Pig is one of the very first shows we exposed our daughter to. She seriously could not care less about it. I’ve been smitten with Peppa from day one. She’s full of sass, curiosity and sweetness. In an age where princesses seem to dominate the little girl landscape, I can’t help but feel this pink angel is a breath of fresh air. Peppa’s giggle and little brother George’s cry always put me in stitches. I am going to continue to shove this show and all its merchandise down my daughter’s throat until she’s old enough to appreciate just how friggin’ cool Peppa is.

1. Ready, Steady, Wiggle!

These Aussie performers will always have a special place in my heart.

From the moment my daughter first heard The Wiggles, she was enraptured. The Wiggles are the only people who can bring her to a complete stop. The 20 minutes that Ready, Steady, Wiggle is on is the only time I can duck out of the living room to do dishes or go to the bathroom. They are a godsend.

Aside from their ability to hypnotize our daughter, my husband and I love watching the Wiggles. The music is so much fun to sing along with and we find each Wiggles’ persona silly and intriguing and there are some really funny and wacky moments. I truly believe that being a Wiggle would be one of the best jobs in the world; they make it look so fun.

Honourable mentions:

Shimmer and Shine: Zach’s unrequited love for Leah keeps me tuning in. You could cut the sexual tension with a knife.

Max and Ruby: Though this show got suckier with the introduction of their parents, I like the theme song and I think Max is cool.

Wonder Pets!: Soooooooo weird = Awesome.

Author’s note: I am in no way affiliated with Treehouse or the production of any of these shows (although if I was offered a job as a Wiggle, I’d jump at the chance). I’m just a tired lady who has nothing better to do when her exhausting toddler is napping.

Leave a Reply

